Week 6 (constipation & psychic mother)

Family still doesn’t know and it’s getting so hard not to tell them. Let me correct myself…my Uncle Andy was told this morning. I rarely have the opportunity to actually talk to him as he lives in Dubai, so I saw him on Skype this morning and jumped on the ability to tell him myself. He’s very happy for us and reminded me to eat good and no more booze  I think I can handle that just fine.

I’m still not having any sickness related to the pregnancy and a few people have me worried. Monica in our office used to work in the OB/GYN clinic so she’s very wise. She told me that it’s better to get sick than to NOT get sick because it means the baby is “sticking”. Not having symptoms yet has Bryce and I worried that we might lose the baby and I’m really hoping that’s not the case and that my sickness will kick in around 7 weeks like my BabyCenter app tells me. I’m sure this will be the only time in my life that I will be looking forward to illness.

I am such a grump in the morning! Can I just tell you…my mood swings are out of this world! Poor Bryce. At least he knows and we discussed these symptoms already. Most things are kept discreet between us if it’s a personal issue because he doesn’t need to know every little gross thing, but I told him that, during this pregnancy, there’s going to be some gross things and I just need him to not get weird about it but to support me. So I had to open up to him about constipation. Oh my gosh it was not the best conversation to have. He made sure to lighten the mood by texting me things like “don’t push too hard that you poop out our baby” or “I’ll be home with a foam finger to cheer you on outside the bathroom door”. Ha ha. I’m pretty lucky that he’s taking it so well.

I thought that I had to pee a lot, but I think it may just be related to the “HOLY CRAP I’M PREGNANT’ feeling that I was having last week. It’s slowed down a little bit more this week. Granted, I don’t drink coffee in the morning anymore so my entire digestion system that I had going has officially gone to shit. Well…not literally…obviously. Ha. But I am no longer “regulated” by morning lattes that I was so dependent upon before. Since I knew that I was going to be going without my morning cup of happiness and life support, I had to make sure that I got something in the morning to trick my brain. I drink a hot cup of apple cider or hot chocolate. I just pretend that it’s a nice mocha and my brain has been falling for it so far and I haven’t been miserable. However, the first few days I had horrible headaches…withdrawals, you know! I’m a regular addict apparently and, for my push present…I would like a venti Starbucks drink please! I’ve decided.

I bought myself a chalkboard at Gordman’s over the weekend where I can track our baby’s progress. I am borrowing the idea that I found on Pinterest. We will write how far along I am on the chalkboard with some of the symptoms & then post it online so our family & friends can enjoy this experience with us. I haven’t been able to use it yet, however, because it’s still hush-hush for one…and because I forgot to buy chalk for two. Ha. Whoops. Pregnancy brain already?

I’ve got my cubby at work stacked with some healthy snacks to ensure that I’m never going without something good to nibble on throughout the day. Here’s what I have:

At home breakfast: Cracklin’ Oat Bran (good in fiber for you know what problem!)
Work morning snack: Whole wheat English muffin with peanut butter & honey
Lunch: Whole wheat peanut butter & jelly sandwich with crackers & cheese
Afternoon snack: White cheddar popcorn
Dinner: “Varies”…but always includes a salad and a vegetable!

I want to make sure that I’m feeding my baby right because poor little thing can’t choose for itself just yet! So far I think I’m on a good start. Even daddy has gotten into the better-life routine by joining the gym and going on “bad-food” strike with me 

My mom is on to me….. I swear she has a sixth sense that I’m having a baby. She’s picking up on some clues that I have to LIE about. Oh I don’t like lying to her, but it’s for her own good. She will be grateful that we waited to tell her when we do! I was visiting her on Saturday and she offered me an Angry Orchard Ale. I turned it down and told her that Bryce & I decided that I won’t drink while we’re trying to have a baby to better my odds and “just in case”. Then I called her to see if we could do dinner sometime in the week and she instantly was like “why do you want to do dinner? Are you pregnant?” “NO MOM! Can we just have dinner without a monumental occasion?” Ha. Oh it’s killing me! Ha. Sorry, mom….but you’ll be so psyched!

Leave a comment

Filed under Week 06

Leave a Reply

