Food: Let Them Eat…Soup!

“Crock Pot”…”Slow Cooker”…whatever you call it, for those of us who truly understand the magic behind this glorious kitchen accessory, it may as well be called “The Love Bowl”.

I enjoy cooking! I do, I love it! So don’t get me wrong when I say that I also love ‘set it & forget it’ meals. I pride myself on loving to take the time to throw together large dinners, but there are just some days {usually Mondays} where all you want to do is nothing…and that’s why God created ‘someone’ to create the slow cooker.

Today I’m going to share with you one of my favorite “Love Bowl” meals. Since it’s just Bryce & I {and wee one in da belly}, I have broken it down into a two-person-sized meal, but I usually make it in a larger batch so I can eat it for lunch the next day. I’m going to share with you the two-person-sized ingredients, so all you need to do it double it for more.

f12404216a1c155dccafcc00c2924493

Love Bowl Chili with Cornbread & Honey

1 can white beans
1 can pinto beans
1 can kidney beans
1 can whole kernel corn
1 can green chilies
1 can fire-roasted tomatoes
1lb ground beef
2 Tbsp Cumin
1.5 Tbsp Chili Powder
1 Tbsp Brown sugar
1/2 Tbsp Garlic salt
2 tsp Paprika

1. Brown the ground beef in the morning while you’re getting ready (can be a little pink since it will be slow-cooking throughout the day, but roughly brown it)
2. Throw together all canned items (beans, corn, chilies, tomatoes) into the slow cooker
3. Add browned beef & stir together
4. Add seasonings & stir. I don’t measure my seasonings; I just know how to eyeball it at this point…to get the desired taste, though, you’ll want to add more cumin & chili powder than any other seasoning. The cumin really makes this dish amazing!! I promise. After you stir it around, just taste the juices really quick. If you aren’t picking up the seasonings, add more. Remember…the ground beef especially is going to be picking up all these seasonings so go kind of cray!
5. Slow cook LOW for 8 hours
6. Bake cornbread {I will only ever recommend Marie Calendars cornbread}
7. For ultimate perfection, spoon your chili into a bowl, top with some cheese + sour cream, add the cornbread on top with butter & honey and eat it all together….*salivating*

Leave a comment

January 15, 2014 · 7:46 am

Leave a Reply

